What is your ideal truck

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

palmersfirewood

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
My Ideal Trucks:

2006 Dodge 3500 cummins diesel, 6 speed, texas ranch edition, dually, crew cab, 4x4, all the interior goodies, black with chrome running boards, wich and grillle guard, exhaust stacks, banks power pack and exhaust brake.

1979 f-350 extended cab 4x4, 460, 4 speed, fully restored factory orginal, chrome grille guards and running boards, dark mettallic blue.

LOL Dada, I know how you feel.
Being a farmer i can not afford much, so I ended up getting a old 1991 Ford F250 4 wd E4od 7.3 IDI diesel non turbo . Well I have just done a few mods to it. It has the injection pump turned up 15%, timing advanced, soup bowl off under the air cleaner lid, K &N air filter, and 3 inch exhaust from the Y back with no muffler. On the last check on winter fuel on short runs it will do about 12 to 13. Last summer on a long highway run at about 75 she done 17 to 18.
Not bad for a farm truck running 4.11 gears. The adjustments to the engine sure make a difference. This winter yet I will add a cold air intake along side the radiator. This will also act as a ram air system then too. Then maybe some day a turbo under the hood. But, now I just have to worry about getting the trans rebuilt.
Later
Bob

LOL

Yeap I go to a ford diesel forum all the time. Helped out with a few things over the time I owned the truck. Last summer I had injection pump problems. Got some good info there on changing it out.
I also had a 85 1/2 with a straight 6 and 4 spd manual overdrive. That poor truck seen it all. Rolled across the scales one day at the junk yard with a load of cast on. The load weighted more then the truck empty. Had 6200 in back. That was the last time I did a dum thing like that.
Bob

My '79 F250

I already own it!

Last edited: