Will running other than recommended bar hurt?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
The 270 is a 50cc saw. Lots of people seem to like 20" full skip on a 260. The 260 is also a 50cc saw.

Stihl (or their lawyers) are not going to recommend full skip on any consumer saw because full skip is not a reduced kickback chain.

20" full comp (regular chain) might just be a few too many teeth to pull for the 270. If Stihl reckons the 270 can pull 18" full comp, 20" full skip should be a walk in the park.

Cut4Fun, You're right...for some reason I thought my saw wasn't as powerful as those specs tell me it is. After coming here a week ago as a total noob and reading non-stop I guess I confused myself with information overload.

I think Turnkey4099 hit it on the head when he recommended buying a saw that's recommended for a 20" and having the leeway to go up in size if desired.

Thanks to Sawn and SmithEC for the info on chain types. I've learned more in a week than in five years of using the saw (don't worry, I use full-on protection and am cautious. I just didn't know much about the technical side, since the saw hasn't needed much work).

That Jonsey 490 should be happy with a 20" bar- I own a 590 that is so equipped. The difference between 490/590 is ....? Actually I'm not sure that there IS a difference other than externals. If my old memory is functioning the pistons/cylinders are interchangeable...Anyway, 50ccs will pull a sharp chain on a 20 inch bar. If you want more a than 20 then move beyond the 60cc level.(Around 70ccs is where you get maximum speed with a 24")