Wood id

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wvwoodsman5

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new here , thanks for having me. I'm a retired landscape contractor from eastern Pa. and i moved to West Virginia. I was looking for some firwood in the woods and saw a tree that was still standing but had no bark. I want to use dead stuff before i cut any live trees for firewood. I cut the wedge to drop the tree and noticed the inside was a dark brown all the way thru. In all my years i have never seen a tree with this color inside. It looks like mahogany but i think it only grows in tropical climates. Can you guys tell me what kind of wood this is and if it's worth selling for lumber or use it for firewood?

If you are a retired landscape contractor and don't know what a walnut looks like, its good you're retired.

Well aren't you a jackass ! Walnuts are only dark brown in the center, for your info. ! I know what a walnut looks like. By the way i'm retired because i knew what i was doing and made alot of $$$$$$.

Hi woodsman and welcome to the AS! You will (normally) find good answers here. :msp_smile:
I have no idea what kind of wood you're taking about without any pictures.
Göran.

Well aren't you a jackass ! Walnuts are only dark brown in the center, for your info. ! I know what a walnut looks like. By the way i'm retired because i knew what i was doing and made alot of $$$$$$.

:D:laugh::hmm3grin2orange:
Seriously , I want to know how to retire being a landcape contractor!

Sounds like it might be a highly valuable tree? Pics needed.

It's a Yankee Walnut, they're half yellow. We'd have to see a pic or two to be sure though.

:D:laugh::hmm3grin2orange:
Seriously , I want to know how to retire being a landcape contractor!

Sounds like it might be a highly valuable tree? Pics needed.