Amateur Woods Saw Modification

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

YUKON 659

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
First things first, I don't race saws and I don't even know a whole lot about building them, but I'm a pretty good machinist and I had the desire to do some sort of modification to my saw other than just a basic muffler job. With that being said, I was assisted by one of our resident "magicians" and worked some magic on my Husky 288 Lite.
I started out by machining .020" off the base of cylinder. I have a picture to show the set up I used. I raised the exhaust port .010" from it's original height and widened it about .080" in a CNC mill. I also polished it to a mirror finish.The intake port was glass beaded to obtain a slight texture. The last thing I did was a muffler modification as you can see in another picture.
I haven't made any cuts with it yet but as soon as I do I'll let you know how it does. It seems to have incredible throttle response and there is a definite difference in the way it runs...seems like the effort was well worth it!!!!

Jeff

Scott, I'll let the experts answer the question about the power band, like I said, I'm not a builder I just did the work..if that makes any sense. As far as the exhaust outlet, I'd say it's about 85% of the exhaust port. I didn't want to go to big at first.

Jeff

well you might as well do your intake port and the transfer ports because when you lowered your jug you changed the porting time on them as well, when you lowered the jug you have to remember that you need to port the top of the intake port so that when the piston is at top dead centre the bottom of the skirt doesnot go up pass the top of the intake port because if it does you have port timing that is doing nothing because the port is blocked at the top from the intake port not being level with the botton of the piston skirt