Any thoughts or opinions on this chinese saw?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Platoon Daddy

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
this guy owns/operates a saw repair shop just south of Springfield, MO. he usually has decently priced used equipment. he seems to think highly of this particular saw...just wondered if anyone had any first hand experience with them? i'm new to this posting stuff...hope the link is clickable....please bear with me

20" 58cc chainsaw NEW strong runner!

I expect these, or something similar, will start displacing what the big box stores are currently selling. More saw, less wholesale cost = more profit. For the people that use a saw a few times a year they're a bargain. At this point I wouldn't want to replace my very reliable 025 with one. I am willing to test one for the guy selling them, no charge.

I'll just leave this here.

[video=youtube;v6GAssS-v2k]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v6GAssS-v2k[/video]

Probably a lot more stress than the average saw operator would put on them, but point well made about the quality.

I believe that seller may be an AS member...
Got a hunch...
They may well run decent. Depends how closely they copied the Jred design.
Materials WILL be of lesser quality, and performance WILL be hit and miss... QC is pretty loose on this stuff...

For the people that use a saw a few times a year they're a bargain.

I'm not so sure about this. People that buy "box-store" brand saws aren't always the most mechanically gifted people. Basically the same people who leave gas in a lawn mower over the winter year after year and all of a sudden have carb problems. They will buy inferior 2 cycle oil and maybe chain lube if they remember. Of coarse, this is will be owner error, not the fault of the saw, but the saw will take the blame for ignorance.