Canned pre-mix fuel

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Not to start a rumor, but there was speculation that a small number of unscrupulous individuals, would buy a can of pre-mixed fuel, and take it back to an easy-to-return / no-questions-asked type retailer, filled with pump gas.

I have no direct knowledge of this. Could happen with any brand. Maybe less likely at a full service dealer than a ‘big box’ store?

I have seen used, dull, dirty, grungy chains returned in those clear, plastic, clamshell-type packages. The clerks take them back. I saw them at a place that sold returns and closeouts.

Tamper-evident seals on the cans would discourage some of this, or, at least give alert purchasers a ‘heads-up’.

Philbert
Canned fuel smells totally different and is of a different color than pump gas.

Canned fuel smells totally different and is of a different color than pump gas.

You know that, Philbert knows that, I know that. Average homeowner, maybe not.

Could easily see a homeowner thinking they were doing right by their little gas doohickey, putting the good fuel in it. Doohickey blows up, shop says homeowner straight gassed it, homeowner swears up and down they put the expensive good stuff in it, everyone is unhappy.

I do wish TruFuel put more dye in their fuel. Looks almost like water.

You know that, Philbert knows that, I know that. Average homeowner, maybe not.

Could easily see a homeowner thinking they were doing right by their little gas doohickey, putting the good fuel in it. Doohickey blows up, shop says homeowner straight gassed it, homeowner swears up and down they put the expensive good stuff in it, everyone is unhappy.

I do wish TruFuel put more dye in their fuel. Looks almost like water.
I've never been a fan of red dyed oil to be honest. It's to hard to see in a red gas can. Deep blue or dark green is the way to go dye wise.