Debating between a Stihl 362 and a Husqvarna 372XP

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

matt33

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Let me start by saying I'm a newbie on this site and I've already learned a lot from you guys. I’m thinking about buying a new saw. I live on approximately 100 acres of mixed hardwood and softwood trees in NE PA. I usually buy one tri-axle load of hardwood logs each summer for my firewood needs, but I also occasionally cut and trim trees from around the property. My Dad gratuitously loaned (more or less gave) me his Sthil MS290 a couple of years ago. It has been very reliable, but sometimes I wish it had more power, especially when cutting tri-axle loads of logs. Most importantly, I put a lot of hours on the saw each weekend and don’t feel right wearing out his saw (which was brand new when he left it here for me to use).

I went to my local Sthil/Husqvarna dealer this morning and looked at saws. I narrowed my choices down to the Stihl MS362 (best price was $625) and the Husqvarna 372XP (best price was $750). While the saws weighed nearly the same in my hands (both had 20” bars), the 372XP has a considerably larger displacement and more HP. It may just be my perception, but the Sthil felt like it might have been of slightly better quality.

My brain tells me the Husqvarna is probably the right choice because it bridges a larger gap beyond my current Farmboss. However, I wanted to get everyone’s input before I made a choice. Does the 372XP cut substantially better than the MS362? Do you feel the 372XP is worth the extra cost based on my needs? Thanks in advance for any help!