Does it pay?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chainsawaddict

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
Does it pay to sell firewood? Ive been trying to figure this out. I've been cutting about two cords a day on my off days (tues and thurs) I am still a fulltime student. I was thinking about doing it full time this summer instead of my usual job working for a well drilling co. Im pretty sure i have enough dead siberian elm to cut all summer, full time. Here in Western NE there isnt a lot of wood other than old tree rows that are dying out, and they are just full of siberian elm. Most people around here burn it, even though it isnt that desireable. I love cutting wood, Im just wondering if it would work. Do people who use a lot of wood buy wood, or do they cut it themselves. What do you guys think?

Work out a spreadsheet cost benefit analysis including your career and financial needs. Work out the net revenue over the short summer ( most firewood is sold in the fall ).
Ask some of the firewood producers here: if you're doing it as a business, you need serious capital investment in equipment, insurance, cost of goods sold, etc..... Professional producers sell 100's or cords a year. Worry about the supply of raw material: S. Elm can be tough to work, unlimited supply ?. Competitors. Customers.
Here's the soft side: you enjoy it, it bulks you up ( play sports ? ), it is a needed service.
Will the summer job contribute to your career ?
More that you can easily figure out. Nice idea, why not ?

Some people buy wood because they either do not have or know of a place to cut wood. Others are actually smart enough to know they are no business operating a chainsaw, but they like wood heat.

I think others have "professional" jobs (i.e.; lawyers, doctors, and the like), and think cutting firewood is "beneath them".