Has this ever happened to you?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I know how ya feel Cody. You want to have the job done right.

I'm just starting out and learning really quick that itemizing every frickin detail about the job really pays off. Having it all in writing and having them sign off. I also take pics when anything is questionable. In the end all they really care about is making it look like nothing happened. I give every one the same rates for the job. To me its what is going to take to get it done and make something at the end of the day.

I did one at a condo complex a few weeks ago where 3 people from the condo association and I literally narrowed 4-5 branches down on each tree to be removed. It went like "should we take this branch, no that branch," and so on. We looked over 6 trees and what should have taken about 15 min ran for over an hour. I just sat there quietly taking notes, thinking wow this outa be interesting. They also insisted several times that the residents would drag branches to the curb for the city to pick up. I told them I would rather just do the work and they insisted. I said ok and wrote all the specifics down and had them sign. Day of the job comes and the president of the association does help drag branches on the first tree, but disappears during the second. No one else shows up. She also had me take down a lot more than what they agreed on. Well, who could have guessed it. She was the final say so I felt comfortable doing it. I figured the cost the same if I was doing all the work or not and it turned out I did do the majority of it. Whatever, in the end I got paid and everyone "seemed" happy.

If they try to insist on helping with the job you need to take control of the negotiations at that point and tell them that it is against company policy due to liability issues. That usually shuts them up on that one.