Is this clip wrong for my saddle?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Canyon Angler

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
Just bought a Buckingham Traverse saddle and a Yale wire core flipline. Bear with me because I'm new to all of this. However, I saw on the saddle box that I should only use a clip with certain dimensions (see photo) and the clip on the flipline doesn't have those characteristics (the keeper spring tension is less than 2.5# as well).

Does this mean I shouldn't use this flipline with this saddle?

If it's not right, I want to return it ASAP, and definitely before I try using it.

Thanks,

Jeff

EDIT: I think I understand why Buckingham says no-go on a clip like that. It looks like it's possible, in a fall or some other weird situation, for the large D-ring on the saddle to twist around, depress the locking lever and allow the clip to open. Sooooo...I guess when I bought the flipline I should have been sure the dimensions of the clip were compatible with the D-rings on the saddle...right?

Last edited:
AH SOOOOO....now I get it! As Roseanne Roseannadanna used to say, "Never mind!"

I was reading the WARNING wrong... :dizzy:

What they're really saying in the WARNING (I think) is:

Use the saddle with EITHER:

a) a locking pole strap snaphook (mine locks so it should be OK)

OR

b) a NON-locking pole strap snaphook with a maximum distance between the rivet and the inside of the hook of 2.35" and with a minimum spring keeper tension of 2.5#

...RIGHT? :popcorn:

Somebody at Buckingham needs to make that language a little clearer (or make me a little less dense)!

OK, I'll shut up now and go read my Climber's Companion and On Rope books for a while. Just wanted to be sure I didn't buy anything I shouldn't have.

Thanks for the reply OTG Boston, BTW.