Need a new saw- suggestions?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rzacc

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Greetings all. Newbie here from Colorado. I would like to ask your enlightened opinions before I buy a new - or used- saw.
I have a 272xp Husky now, which I love, and am in need of a backup. Could anyone tell me what the difference is between the 300 series saws and the 200 series? Am I correct in assuming that the 373 has replaced the 272? Does anyone know anything about the 388xp?
I had an older Pioneer Farmsaw for a long time and loved it, for a lightweight, and would consider that also- any thoughts?? How do the Husky's compare with Stihl?
I cut just for myself, and noting huge, but I like a saw with good power. I guess what I really need is something at least as strong as my 272, and a lighter limber as well. So, now I've talked myself into buying two!

Thanks in advance for any insight!

Ron Z

2 is better than 1 :)

The 372xpg is a very nice saw, one of the best out there according to many of the members on this site ,,,
I got one myself and like it very much !
I also got a 346xpg for limbing which is also a fine saw :)
go to a dealer and feel on them both
I think if you want Stihls its the 026/260 or 044/440 you want to check out, or maybe a 046/460, they are also great saws !
As long as you go with Pro line of both brands I don't think you can go wrong with either of the two brands !!
If you like the 272 I think you will like 372 ,,,,

/Kristoffer

Thanks

Thanks. Do you know if the 372 is an upgraded 272, or what the difference might be?
Im not really looking at Stihls becaue Idon't know anything about them..would you advise?
RonZ

well I'm perfectly happy with my two saws the 346 is muffler modded and the 327 is going to be as soon as get the new muffler home ,,
since I own huskys my advice can only be of any worth with that brand.