need your opinion on piston and cylinder wall, if i need to replace them

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DOJO

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Bought a used stihl 026 and taking it apart to clean and see what needs to be fixed.

Yesterday was able to take the piston out as I wanted to see if i need to change it. When to a local dealer and he looked at the piston thou exhaust and said it's ok. But i still wanted to take the piston out to see everything in close details.

Would like to know your opinion if I need to change it or not as I do not know.

Thanks.

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

Last edited:
PlantBiologist, cleaned up with what? sorry, i'm new to this.

blsnelling, do not have acid and don't want to play with it. So was planing on going to a auto part store to get some card cleaning.
Thought this is better then sand paper
http://www.baileysonline.com/itemdetail.asp?item=240AO%2045

You can try a very fine sand paper or some steel wool. For the cylinder I think muriatic acid is what you would use. I have never used it personally, so i can't advise on technique.

For the piston, you just need to get rid of the rough spots, but don't go crazy and take off a lot of material. Make sure that the ring groove is clean.

Did you check compression before you took it apart? It looks like it would have fine compression, barely even a scratch on the rings.

Depends what you want to get out of it, Quite likely you could just smooth things out and get it running, might last a good while.

On the other hand it's not likely to be a strong saw with parts that rough. Would not be surprised if it was hard starting and inconsistant at low speed.