Poison Ivy

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

goof008

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I'm planning on cutting down some dead ash trees this winter and the few that I had my eye on have poison ivy growing on them. Is it still something to avoid in the winter, or have all the oils dried up that give you the rash?

I'm planning on cutting down some dead ash trees this winter and the few that I had my eye on have poison ivy growing on them. Is it still something to avoid in the winter, or have all the oils dried up that give you the rash?

I am not an expert but I beleive the poison is allways in the roots and the branches. It would be very interesting to here from someone who knows for sure, I have the same problem.

Are the vines still alive? That's the first thing to tell us.

Urushiol (the toxin that your body reacts to) is most strong in the woody parts of the plant and takes quite a while to dry out of there. If you lop off the vine at the base and let it die, the leaves will dry up, fall off and with a couple of rains probably not cause any harm. The woody parts however, like I said, take a while...so proceed with common sense and caution.

Yes, during the winter they're not nearly as nasty as in the spring and summer, but if you start chainsawing and have chips hitting your face, you better plan to take a shower no more than a couple of hours of work, or you'll be in for an uncomfortable time!

When I bought my place and cleared out the poison Ivy from the property I cut the vine at the base and let it die. Then I went back to the tree the next winter and pulled the vine off and tossed it in the woods. Came back inside, placed all my clothes in the washer and took a shower. Never had a problem.