Portawrap with no deadeye

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hosocat

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
If you find yourself wanting to use a portawrap, but all you have to attach it to base tree is a length of straight line, what would you do? I tied a bowline on the end in place of the deadeye and just kept an eye on it to make sure it wasnt loosening as i worked since i was just lowering small to medium branches. Any other ideas that might have worked?

bowline with a yosemite tie off, or the "double bowline", I would avoid cinching knots like the scaffold knot because of how hard they are to un-tie once loaded, especially shock loads or big wood

Here's a couple of ways I've been using for 30 years or so to attach a Port-a-Wrap to a tree using a rope with no spliced eye. The rope is 5/8" double braid bull rope. The nicely melted rope ends are melted using a 200 watt soldering iron. It's a technique that requires a little practice to master, but well worth mastering.

1) A big eyed bowline is tied to the Porty:
Port-a-Wrap attachment options 001.JPG

2) The Stilson hitch (also called a Cow hitch with a better half) is beginning to be tied to the tree. Notice how the bowline ends up being quite a ways from the Porty:
Port-a-Wrap attachment options 002.JPG

3) The completed and ready to use Porty attached to a tree using a Stilson Hitch with a big eyed bowline. The Stilson includes the final half hitch. This knot is also called a 'Cow hitch with a better half'. Note that the bowline termination is behind the tree out of sight. It just worked out that way.
Port-a-Wrap attachment options 004.JPG
///////////////////////////////////
/////////////////////////////////////////////
/////////////////////////////////////////////////////
/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////