Questions about new saw 036 QS

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jimbo

Reaction score
Hello,
I am brand new to this forum. First post. Would like some confirmation. I recently purchased a new 036QS w/20" bar. I also have a Craftsman saw. I have a few questions as I am new to the chainsaw world being just a homeowner. i have been reading this forum for about two months prior to getting the saw.
1. Break-in period is 5 tanks of mix. First tank at idle and next tanks without major load on saw.
2. Mix oil/gas 40:1 using highest octane. Can I use Craftsman oil as I have some or break it in on Stihl. 3.2oz to 1 gal.
3. Can i use Craftsman bar oil on Stihl w/o major problems. Past threads have said use what you want.
4. Saw came with 20" bar. I would like to use a 16" bar based on what I have read here and that I will be cutting firewood 1-2 cords 1-2 x's p/year. Do I need a Stihl or can I use another bar? What do you suggest? What kind of chain 3/8 RS?
5. To store it after use. Put stabil in mix, run it until in carb, empty tank, run it dry. Can I put stabil in with the fuel/oil miz? I have read that some oils have stabil in it. Is that enough?
6. Any other information for a guy new to this caliber of saw would be appriciated. I will follow the cardinal rule - Keep the filter clean. Thanks for all your time and help. Jimbo

Welcome Jimbo. Don't be afraid to post numerous threads, as you ask many questions in one post, and some may get overlooked, but we'll see what we can do.