saw and bar maintenence

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

husky455rancher

Addicted to ArboristSite
. AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
ok for those of you that have read my previous posts know im fairly new to saws and trying to learn as much as i can.

my question is is there anything i should be doing to the saw as far as maintence goes other than taking the side cover off once and a while and cleaning it all out? i was told to flip the bar over every now and again so it wears evenly. i know you can dress bars but i dont know how to do it or what it actually does. any info would be greatly appreciated, thanks, Mike

keep it clean, greased, and use correct chain tension. Flip it ocasionally. do all that and your bar will last ages.

I run my oiler on full all the time, regardless of bar length. others disagree, but its a personal preferance. cuts faster with more oil anyway, and if $$$ was an issue I wouldnt have my CAD!

change your drive sproket every 2 chains. change your bar every 2 drive sprokets. dont throw anything out as you can use the old stuff for the dirty stump jobs, or when you "mate" wants to borrow the chainsaw.

Cheers

STK

Saw maintenance

I would recommend that you use a rim sprocket instead of a tooth sprocket. One reason is that they are far easier and cheaper to change and you can use multiple number of driving rims to get a selection of torque and chain speed from your saw. They also seem to run and wear better for me. I even use them on my smaller 210 size saws. Simple thing to make your saw more pro-like, no matter the size or design intention.