Bar Oil Containers - diff fluid bottle alternatives??

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

computeruser

Addicted to ArboristSite
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
So, anyone have a suggestion for a bar oil container that is similar in size/shape to a differential fluid bottle or MSR fuel canister or TruFuel canister, but holds up better in actual use than a diff fluid bottle?

I've been using diff fluid bottles for a few years because the pour tops are really great for spill-free filling and they fit in the pack I take to the woods, but I keep losing the caps or having the tops pop off the threads on the bottle. And now that I no longer own a Jeep, I no longer have reason to go through five or ten diff bottles per year, so I'm looking for other options short of buying diff lube I don't need, just to get the bottles.

Anyone know of a better bottle option, similar in design/concept and more durable?

I can't remember who, but someone here mentioned using a dishwashing liquid bottle. It has worked great for me so far and I don't waste any oil. by the time I wear this one out maybe I'll have a new dishwashing liquid bottle to use.

I just use an old one quart power steering fluid container. It lives in my tool bag when i go out, and contains more than enough oil to fill my truck and or trailer.

when I bought my top handle, the dealer talked me into buying a can of the premix stihl fuel. (I'm a sucker but dude was really nice). anyway, it comes in a metal container and that container has become the new b/c oil bottle. opening is small enough to make refilling easy.

Lots of food, shampoo, etc., bottles that could be used. There are also a wide variety of bicycle water bottles that could be used: different sizes, different caps, etc. Basic ones are pretty inexpensive. Some even come with their own carrying cages!

Screen shot 2015-12-13 at 9.42.12 PM.png