Ms290 burnt up!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mud man

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I have a ms290 it stopped running so I took it to the shop they said the motor was burnt up. They wanted 375$ to repaire. But I can get a complete engine for 100$ on eBay ... I'm new on the site plus I'm not a mechanic either. But I think I can repair it. Are there any particular parts that need to be torqued?? I don't want to trash a new engine....

I did not mix the gas properly. I poured the oil in the gas jug and did not shake it.

It's the line that goes from the base of the jug to the carburetor, just a molded piece of rubber.

The crankcase pressure creates a vacuum which allows the carburetor to pump fuel no matter what direction it's angled in.

If you are going to put a new cylinder on that saw it is highly advisable to replace all soft parts. Cheap insurance.

I'll be back in Ohio next week I may just bring the saw and let you take a look at it.

If I rella the piston and honed out the cylinder, what mm will it be. Ms290 is a 46 mm from factory. If I put the long block in that's a 49mm I could run a 24" bar. As of now I can only run a 20" bar

I had a 1 gallon wine jug I saved to use for something nothing really in mind just thought I should save it. Well I needed some mix the other day and my saw gas is a 1/4 mile out in the woods so I said well I will just mix up a gallon in this glass jug. I put the oil in the jug first then 1 gallon of regular gas. I was amazed how poorly it blended with the gas.