My boys first solo saw build

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MGoBlue

Those who stay will be champions
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
1st, gotta give credit where it's due. A friend of mine recently picked 3 free Huskys. Being a steel guy and all, he knows a good saw when he runs it, so he kept the 288! :baba: He gave one of the others to my 15 yr old son, Andrew. Kinda caught us both off guard, but it wasn't really a surprise knowing his character. So there's the basic back story. Much thanks farmer of lead! @lead farmer

So all the parts are there, I figured I post a build thread. He did help a little during the redux of my dads 50, so he's not a total newb. This time, he will turn every wrench. And for that, I again must thank Rodney. What more could a dad ask for! Time spent rebuilding a saw with his kid. :bowdown::bowdown:

This is what we're starting with:

DSC00490.JPG
DSC00491.JPG
DSC00492.JPG

As soon as he got home from school today, he wanted to dig in.
DSC00493.JPG
DSC00496.JPG

Well it was certainly good practice. It's a no go though. Couple nasty scratches in there, so we'll wait and find a replacement. He did get it lookin' better.
DSC00516.JPG
DSC00514.JPG
DSC00513.JPG

As for the carb... I've never seen anything like it before!
Right now, it's in a mix sauna.
DSC00517.JPG

But check this out.
DSC00533.JPG
We cleaned it up as best we could and called it an evening. Made a parts list but his funds are limited, so we'll have to budget wisely. As he works on it, I'll post up so Rod-man can follow.

Thanks fella's. I'll follow up on your offers. Our kids get their age in $$ per week for allowance and he's trying to save up for a car. :eek: He's really sharing my interest for saws n stuff. :dancing:

DD, we were planning on a Meteor. Bearings feel good and I won't know about the seals till I get the top end back on. I'll be in touch.