Sharpening chain and efficiency?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi guys,
I have been practising free hand sharpening for the last 6-8 months and feel very comfortable with where I am and the results I get.

I’m curious though, how long does it take you to freehand file / re profile the teeth on a 20” bar? Not from completly rocked or damaged, just to adjust the hook profile and bring the edge back to sharp?

I know it’s not a race, but I’m curious to how efficient / inefficient I am compared to others. I have found the point of diminishing returns to occur very quickly for firewood cutting

Anyway, working at a somewhat fast pace it took me 22 minutes. I guess that’s what… 18-20 seconds a tooth to tweak the profile of the hook and give it a sharpen.

Though I have spent over an hour fixing a badly rocked chain and used a file up…

I use the 2 in 1 files on my chains. For an average sharpening, like you said, no real damage to file through, I'd guess 7-10 minutes, with two to three passes per tooth. That's just a guess though, I've never timed myself.

I use the 2 in 1 files on my chains. For an average sharpening, like you said, no real damage to file through, I'd guess 7-10 minutes, with two to three passes per tooth. That's just a guess though, I've never timed myself.
Interesting, I have never had any luck with the 2 in 1. Never got the shape or hook needed. Do you find you get good results? Do you have a side pic of the tooth?

Just touched one up, was sharp... put about a tank & a half through the saw (036) cutting macrocarpa & gum. 3-4 strokes per cutter, took about 10 mins. Didn't touch rakers (did them last time) but I'd say that'd add another 5-10 minutes depending on chain type (ie, safety bumpers?) & How much they need dropping.