Vermeer 252 pillow block bearing problems

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Humpstump

Reaction score
hello everyone...glad to be a part of this forum..just found it...looks great! I've been grinding stumps since 2004, now on my 2nd grinder, purchased another SC252 as the first worked out well for me. My only real issue, with my first machine and my 2nd machine (which now has 555 hrs), is my pillow block bearings crapping out at about 150 hours. Is this normal? Im pretty good about keeping sharp teeth, and if anything I have over greased my bearings in the past...but do stick close to the manufacture recommended lube schedule. Anyone use different bearings other than those sold by Vermeer...they are about $250 for all 4, and Vermeer is 80 miles from me....just hopeing to get something better for less. I just installed Dodge bearings (trying something different)...and after 10 hours I can tell they are not going to make it! Suggestions are greatly appreciated...thanks and stay safe!