Why do "Chinesium" chainsaws need a richer oil mix?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
If an OEM has the proper quality and documentation procedures, it doesn't matter where the product is made. A Stihl saw made in China would be just as good as one made in Germany if they set up all of the same procedures. We saw this when the Japanese car manufacturers started to manufacture here. There was no loss in quality. Meanwhile, after about 50 years in the US market, the big 3 American auto manufacturers are far from matching the quality of Honda, Toyota and Subaru. It's the system, not the country. I am not saying the Chinese clones are as good as the originals. I have no experience with them. My best guess is they are not. But I would be pretty sure a genuine Stihl saw made in China would be just as good as one made anywhere else.
Having spent a number of years working for both Japanese and American Tier 1 automotive suppliers, I'm going to disagree slightly. When the Japanese first started making vehicles here, their quality suffered because the workers didn't want to follow a bunch of rules made up by a bunch of "Japs". It took a while, but those issues got worked out. At the end of the day, a good production systems helps a good worker do an even better job, but it won't make a lazy, arrogant, idiot any better than the day he/she walked in the door.

Pretty low HP numbers and notice the test figures include the use of a catalyst muffler.
None of these are EPA compliant.
That's right, as far as the catalyst muffler is concerned. On the other hand, presence in the database means compliance ( with the lowest possible "useful life"). And, of course, maximum power is given in kW, not HP.