another splitter question???

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

moose5180

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hey all, first post here. I have done a lot of research on these and wonder if you fellas have any recommendations? I live in a fairly remote spot in Wyoming, we have Lowes and Home Depot within 200 miles. I have looked at their splitters online and have read so so reviews. I have also looked at others online but cant see paying $400+ for shipping. I am a welder by trade and thought i could build my own, from what i have figured i will have 12-$1500 in a home made version. Does not make sense either. So, are the Big box store splitters any good? They have a MTD 27 ton for $1300 and a Troy Built for the same price. Are the MTD and Troy the same thing? They sure look to be. They also sell an Ariens? Never heard of them. All we have to cut and burn is pine so i really dont need a monster as far as tonnage. I see some retailers online have free shipping, but jack up the price $400 to make up for it. Does anyone here use the MTD or TB? How do you like it? Thanks for any suggestions.

Thanks for the replies!
After even more looking, what about the 27 ton Earthquake model?
I found a site with free shipping and no tax, if i buy locally i have about $100 in tax. So, the earthquake at the door is just a few bucks more.
I am also seeing an Iron & Oak brand 15 ton with an 8 second cycle time. Is a 15 ton unit enough? Thanks again for the help!

ariens

Thanks for the replies!
After even more looking, what about the 27 ton Earthquake model?
I found a site with free shipping and no tax, if i buy locally i have about $100 in tax. So, the earthquake at the door is just a few bucks more.
I am also seeing an Iron & Oak brand 15 ton with an 8 second cycle time. Is a 15 ton unit enough? Thanks again for the help!