First post, hello from a chainsaw newbie.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brages

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
Hi folks,

First post here... I'm a total newbie. I've got a lot of questions, I'll save most of those for another thread. Weekend before last, I bought my first chainsaw.
I am a homeowner in the suburbs with a woodburning stove, although I haven't used it very consistently for the last few years. My wife's parents and her oldest brother (I think he's got an 026) - all of us homeowners - organized a woodcutting day at a mutual friend's place out in the country where there were a few downed trees to cut up. We rented a splitter and I borrowed a MS290 from my wife's other brother.

Well, on the woodcutting day, the MS290 was just not running well, it was smoking, and would die at idle, and I only made two cuts with it before it wouldn't start at all. Meanwhile, the older brother-in-law with the 026 had hit his chain on some rocks and dulled it completely. So we were stuck. I decided that I guessed I needed to buy my own saw. I ran up to the local Wal-Mart but the selection looked pretty dismal. The salesman there was a self-proclaimed chainsaw enthusiast. He recommended the Poulan synthetic 2-stroke oil and and bar lube. But when I asked him how the Wal-mart saws compared to something like a Stihl he said, "No comparison - the Stihl is much better made and will last a lot longer."

So that was enough to push me away from the $130 Poulan. I have had enough experience with cheap power tools (Ryobi, Homelite) that work OK for a couple of seasons, then they're a constant fight to get started and keep running.