How much slower is spikeless climbing?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xtremetrees

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
Lets take a easy throwball tree say a excurrent pine at 85 feet.
What would you say it would take you to throwball it trim it and stow your gear?

What whould you say to spike ti trim it and stow your gear.?

Kinda a poll Imm start here.

Id say 45 minutes to spike it and trim it

Id say 2 hrs to throw ball it trim it without spikes...

So in 5 years of being a business owner I'll have lost how much money being a C.A.?

So I'mma say spikeing is 150 % more productive.

You'll be glad to know ive only spiked 1 trim this year. Is only because I've not got alot of tree jobs. So I can give my time without charge in most cases.

Thanks in advance.

"Id say 45 minutes to spike it and trim it

Id say 2 hrs to throw ball it trim it without spikes..."

And I'd say 40 minutes to walk up the first 32' on a ladder, then advance my rope with a telescoping polesaw9and fling bag if needed), and prune the tree. Using that polesaw means that I will not have to climb the last 14', too. :)

And advancing the rope that way means I will not need to re-lanyard as often as a spiker. And that means I cannot get sued when the tree is attacked by pine beetles.:angry:

xtreme if you need 2 hours to throwball the tree, you need either a lot more practice, or a new method. You do not have a C.A. problem, you have an epuipment problem.
Buy a ladder and a polesaw, and give this rant a rest.

How many times is this subject going to be debated???:deadhorse:

People who continue to spike trees while pruning them, certified or otherwise, give all the rest of us a bad name.

If you are not up to date on current techniques, take a class or go to a climbing competition and see how the pros do it.

treeseer said: