Pole Saw Harness Recommendation

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FarmerPW

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I purchased a Stihl pole saw this fall to clean up low limbs in fence rows but not happy with single shoulder strap. Need some help finding a good harness that will aid in working longer without total exhaustion. Maybe age is catching up with me???:rolleyes:

Being a doctor I do not recommend you use a power pole saw with a strap connected to your body. I have the Combi and really only use the strap with the weed wacker. I don't even have a power pole saw. You did see a lot of climbers using a lanyard to attach a saw to their belts but not me. No sir!

In reality, it might not seem like it but by the time you have used your power pole saw to the point where you are tired and it becomes to much to handle you have already done a fair share of work. I mean think about how much work it would have taken without the power pole saw, multiply by 100 and take a break.

Pole saws are heavy and suck after a while, no strap is going to make it better. I dont use one at all, the one that comes with it sucks. However, DOC! A lanyard on a saw is mandatory for a few reasons. 1. So ya don't drop it 2. so ya dont drop it. 3 so ya dont drop it...get it. I am no doc, but pretty sure if a saw hit someone on the ground, it might hurt. Just saying.

Pole saws are heavy and suck after a while, no strap is going to make it better. I dont use one at all, the one that comes with it sucks. However, DOC! A lanyard on a saw is mandatory for a few reasons. 1. So ya don't drop it 2. so ya dont drop it. 3 so ya dont drop it...get it. I am no doc, but pretty sure if a saw hit someone on the ground, it might hurt. Just saying.

I wouldn't wanna be doc's groundie, no sir! No sir!