Ethanol Free Gas?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MAWoodsman

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
A local auto shop sells 98 octane ethanol free gas. Im curious if this mixed with 2 stroke oil is the same as the pre mixed stuff I can buy in stores?

Is this gas from a pump or just race gas in a can? If it’s economically reasonable you should just buy a gallon or two and try it.

Is this gas from a pump or just race gas in a can? If it’s economically reasonable you should just buy a gallon or two and try it.
Its race gas that he sells for various purposes.
If i go this route, my Echo calls for 50:1. Any suggestions on which oil to use?

I've been using non E for 8 years in my B&S 24hp lawn mower bought in 2005. Got 562 hours on it today and it runs great. I have a 2003 Yamaha F-90 outboard that I put a water separator filter on it in 2008 while I was using ethanol gas. Had to replace the filter every year and it was a pain to do it. I removed the filter 6 years ago and switched to non E and it cranks and runs better than it ever did before. I've have a Stihl MS291 20" bought a year after they first were sold and it's never had ethanol. It and it cranks on the third pull every time and runs like scalded dog.

Is it as good as the canned stuff? I dont mind mixing my own if its as good as the canned stuff.
Depends on how often you use your equipment.

If that's monthly, ethanol gas is as good as the canned stuff.

If that's every 6-12 months, non ethanol pump gas is as good as the canned stuff.

1year +, stick with the canned stuff.

Even monthly, ethanol gas is horrible. It is hard on rubber parts and evaporates very fast leaving residue.

I would run either the ethanol free near you, look up another station for 91 E0 on pure-gas.org, or buy the premixed from the store.