Test drove a 372XP today

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jules083

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
A friend is selling a few 372XP's, he let me borrow one for a test drive. One word, wow. It's ported and polished by him, one year old. Makes my 55 Rancher seem small. Tomorrow I am going to take on a cherry that's down, and drop a few trees that are hanging over the field. I don't know what they are, I'm not good at ID'ing many trees.

He has 3 for sale, a 2008, 2009, and 2010 models. The 2008 and 2009 models and are currently not running right. He thinks it's crank seals, everything else has been ruled out. If he gets them running right he wants $300 for one, my pick. They each have one years use with him logging, and one year of casual firewood cutting by him. The 2010 he wants $400 for, and he used it for a year logging. He buys at least a new 372 and a new 390 every year for work. He's keeping this year's 390 for a backup next year, and the older ones have been sold off.

Does the price seem right? He has a few parts saws and is giving me a used part warrenty, I'm confident he's not going to screw me over about it. I know that the year that each of them was used for logging they were ran hard, no question about it. He works year round, 5 days a week, for a logging company. Assuming the older ones run right I'll probably get one of them, but if not I can get the newer one.

I know that I want one based on the few cuts I made today. My 55 is a good running saw but it's out of it's league compared to this thing. I always feel like I'm abusing my 55 when I run it in bigger stuff all day, and it would make a better backup saw than my little worn-out Shihl 021.