Total Newbie in need of some advice.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ryan.s

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
As you can see from my post count I'm a total newbie and have never owned a chainsaw. A little about me, one of my hobbies is woodworking/construction and own pretty much every WW tool out there. I want to purchase my first chain saw and wanted to get some recommendations. I believe in buying quality tools that will last without breaking the bank. I haven't set a budget yet but was curious if the $200 range is reasonable.

From the little research I've done so far it seems that stihl is the brand to go with.

Planned uses are general DIY stuff around the house such as trimming trees, and rough cutting logs for WW. I don't expect to be cutting any large trees.

I'm planning to make a visit to my local stihl dealer in the next couple of days to check out what is available.

Some questions I have are - Is it worth getting the lowest end model of a stihl chainsaw (are they just as good as the higher end models for what I need to do)? What sort of prices should I expect? Should I look for an alternative brand of chainsaw (what are some other brands that have a good reputation)? How do the echo saw's compare? Is the bar length the determining factor in the size of log you can cut.. for example if the bar length is 14 inches is it not possible to cut a 20 inch log or is there a safe way around it?

Any general recommendations would be appreciated. Specific recommendations of models/brands that I should look into would be highly appreciated. :)

Thanks in advance!

Stihl MS180 or MS210 would probably suit you.

It's in the price range, and pretty reliable little workers.

There'll be many opinions and encouragement to go up in price and size etc but honestly, have a look at your needs and address them not your ego. ;)